

St. Thomas' College of Engineering and Technology

4, Diamond Harbour Road, Kidderpore, Kolkata-700023

NEWSLETTER

SPARK

VOLUME: III, EDITION: II, JANUARY 22, 2018

DEPARTMENT

EE

VISION:

To create a strong research-based teaching and learning environment that will cater to the needs of modern Electrical Engineering domain

Editors:

1. Prof. (Dr.) S.K. Biswas, Professor, EE

2.Prof.(Dr.) P. Purkait, Professor, EE

3.Prof. A. Bose, Assistant Professor, EE

4.Prof. A. Das, Assistant Professor, EE

5.Neelakshi Ganguly, student

MISSION:

To produce recognized industry-ready professionals in Electrical Engineering, through educational program incorporating laboratory based teaching-learning process.

To enhance knowledge in Electrical Engineering, through research for sustainable development of the society and the nation as a whole.

To promote social, environmental and technological responsiveness among the members of the faculty and students.

RECENT TECHNOLOGY TREND

The power line communication field still constitutes an open and striking research area. Many studies are still necessary to better understand and improve the performance of power lines for high-bit-rate transmission. So far measurements, modelling, and transmission techniques have been the first priority in the activities of the investigators in the area.

Stimulus in enhanced performance, coding, specified protocols and applications has also been initiated. The most crucial issues are the treatment of emissions of high-frequency signals through the line and the consistency procedures

Prof.(Dr.) B.B.Sen Head of the Department, Department of Electrical Engineering, St. Thomas' College of Engineering and Technology

For further information & feedback contact: arupdas 1904@gmail.com



St. Thomas' College of Engineering and Technology

4, Diamond Harbour Road, Kidderpore, Kolkata-700023

DEPARTMENTAL MILESTONES

Best Performance in the Last Even Semester in MAKAUT:

- Rajarshi Roy Choudhury- 1st year YGPA-9.61
- Gourab Karati 3rd Year, YGPA 9.16
- Subhranil Ganguly- 2nd Year, YGPA 9.22
- Sohan Mahalanobish-4th year, DGPA 9.61, YGPA- 9.65

Winner team of in college football tournament held on 23rd Oct, 2017:

- 1. Subham Dutta (C) (4th year)
- 3. Saikat Saha(4th year)
- 5. Nicolas Abhishek Dessa(4th year)
- 7. Saptarshi Mukherjee(4th year)
- 9. Sayan Biswas(3rd year)
- 11. Aritra Chatterjee(3rd year)
- 13. Jitesh Dutta(3rd year)
- 15. Souvik Ghosh(2nd year)

- 2. Subhajit Mahato (4th year)
- 4. Pratik Saha(4th year)
- 6. Sayan Biswas(4th year)
- 8. Ayan Bose(4th year)
- 10. Subinoy Sarkar(3rd year)
- 12. Shekhar Rakshit(3rd year)
- 14. Subhadeep Basu(3rd year)
- 16. Sagnik Ghatak(1st year)



Winner team

PUBLICATION DETAILS

- 1. S. K. Ojha, P. Purkait, and S. Chakraborti, Cole-Cole Representation of Transformer Oil-Paper Insulation Dielectric Response, IEEE 3rd International Conference on Condition Assessment Techniques in Electrical Systems (CATCON), IIT Ropar, Nov., 2017, pp. 36-41.
- 2. S. K. Ojha, P. Purkait, and S. Chakraborti, "Evaluating the Effects of Lower Molecular Weight Acids in Oil-Paper Insulated Transformer", IEEE 3rd International Conference on Condition Assessment Techniques in Electrical Systems (CATCON), IIT Ropar, Nov., 2017, pp. 144 149.